8,242 villages electrified till date under DDUGJY

8,242 villages electrified till date under DDUGJY
13/06/2016 , by , in ALLIED

Around 147 villages have been electrified across the country during last week (from 6th to 12th June 2016) under Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojna (DDUGJY). Out of these electrified villages, 4 villages belong to Arunachal Pradesh, 76 in Assam, 28 in Jharkhand, 2 in Rajasthan, 9 in Madhya Pradesh, 6 in Odisha, 2 in Manipur, 1 in Uttar Pradesh, 10 in Bihar, 3 in Chhattisgarh, and 6 in Meghalaya.

In view of the Prime Minister, Narendra Modi’s address to nation, on Independence Day, Government of India has decided to electrify remaining 18,452 unelectrified villages within 1000 days i.e. by 01st May, 2018. The project has been taken on mission mode and strategy for electrification consists of squeezing the implementation schedule to 12 months and also dividing village electrification process in 12 Stage milestones with defined timelines for monitoring.

However, 8,242 villages have been electrified till date. Out of remaining 10,210 villages, 459 villages are uninhabitated. 6,557 villages are to be electrified through grid, 2,850 villages to be electrified through off- grid where grid solutions are out of reach due to geographical barriers and 344 villages are to be electrified by State Govt own. Total 1654 villages were electrified during April 2015 to 14th Aug 2015 and after taking initiative by Government of India for taking it on mission mode, 6,588 additional villages have been electrified from 15th August 2015 to 12th June, 2016. In order to expedite the progress further, a close monitoring is being done through Gram Vidyut Abhiyanta (GVA) and various actions are also being taken on regular basis like reviewing the progress on monthly basis during the RPM meeting, sharing of list of villages which are at the stage of under energisation with the state Discom, identifying the villages where milestone progress are delayed.

About admin