8,529 villages electrified till date under DDUGJY

8,529 villages electrified till date under DDUGJY
27/06/2016 , by , in ALLIED

Around 45 villages have been electrified across the country during last week (from 20th to 26thJune 2016) under Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojna (DDUGJY). Out of these electrified villages, 67 villages belong to Assam, 16 in Jharkhand, 29 in Meghalaya, 8 in Rajasthan, 11 in Odisha, 3 in Madhya Pradesh, 8 in Bihar, 2  in Chhattisgarh and 1 in Uttar Pradesh.

In view of the Prime Minister, Narendra Modi’s address to nation, on Independence Day, Government of India has decided to electrify remaining 18,452 electrified villages within 1000 days 01st May, 2018.  The project has been taken on mission mode and strategy for electrification consists of squeezing the implementation schedule to 12 months and also dividing village electrification process in 12 Stage milestones with defined timelines for monitoring.

However, 8,529 villages have been electrified till date. Out of remaining 9,923 villages, 459 villages are uninhabited. 6,374 villages are to be electrified through grid, 2,754 villages to be electrified through off- grid where grid solutions are out of reach due to geographical barriers and 336 villages are to be electrified by State government own.

About admin