Govt announces nine smart cities

Govt announces nine smart cities
20/01/2018 , by , in News/Views

Hardeep Singh Puri, Minister of Housing and Urban Affairs announced the name of next nine smart cities taking the total number to 99 smart cities here on Friday.

Erode (Tamil Nadu), Diu (Daman & Diu), Biharsharif (Bihar), Itanagar (Arunachal Pradesh), Kavaratti (Lakshwadeep), Bareilly, Moradabad and Sahranpur (Uttar Pradesh) are the nine cities that have made it to the list.

For the one city left-out Puri said, “Shillong did not submit its proposal for Smart City hence it has not been made part of the announcement.”

The minister also announced liveability index for 116 Indian cities which include 99 smart cities along with few more cities which have one million plus population.

Minister said Smart Cities is one of the fastest implemented government initiatives till date.

Under the smart cities scheme, central will allocate Rs 500 crore to each city for implementing various projects.

Recently, Surat was announced as the highest ranked smart city for implementing and completing largest number of projects.


About admin