JK Cement announces winners of the 27th edition of  Architect of the Year Awards

JK Cement announces winners of the 27th edition of  Architect of the Year Awards
31/07/2018 , by , in ALLIED

JK Cement Ltd, India’s premier cement company today hosted the 27th edition of Architect of the Year Awards in Ahmedabad to encourage and recognise outstanding talent in the field of architecture.

The Architect of the Year Award is JK Cement’s annual flagship event that aims at recognizing and encouraging outstanding talent in the field of architecture on a global scale. The 27th edition of the JK Cement Architect of the Year Awards continued its legacy of getting an overwhelming response. The awards received 199 entries from India and neighboring countries like Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Mauritius, Nepal, Sri Lanka, among others.

The prestigious award ceremony was graced by the iconic architect and Pritzker Architecture Prize laureate Mr. B.V. Doshi. The winners who were felicitated at the event were selected after much deliberation with industry veterans and architects across the globe.  

The revolving category of ‘Religious Architecture’ was bagged by Ar. Amritha Ballal & Ar. Suditya Sinha for their project ‘Temple in stone and light in Barmar’. This special category was aimed at acknowledging the sacred designs constructed over the years.

The Architect of the Year award was won by Ar. Sharukh Mistry for their project Art and Innovation Hub-Agastya International Foundation in Bengaluru. Architecture Student of the Year was awarded to (Ms.) Ambika Malhotra for her work on project City Centre Redevelopment, Connaught Place Extension in New Delhi while the Young Architect Award was given to Ar. Rasika Naik for her work on Vivekananda Kendra Vidyalaya in Assam.

Apart from these, this year’s Green Architecture Award was won by Ar. Prasanna Morey for his project Kondan, The Retreat Resort, Pimpri in Pune.

Like every year, AYA honours talent beyond boundaries with the FCAA Focus Countries’ Architect of the Year Award. This year, Ar. Palinda Kannangara from Sri Lanka was conferred with the Foreign Countries’ Architect of Year Award for Studio Dwelling project. Further commendation awards in various categories were also presented.

Commenting on the success of the awards ceremony, Mr. Yadupati Singhania – Chairman & Managing Director, JK CementLtd. said, “AYA has lived up to its legacy of awarding excellence every year. Constituted a quarter century ago, the AYA has had an exceptionally successful journey of over 25 years and it has blossomed into a great institution that will continue to help pave the way for a better tomorrow in design. I congratulate all the winners who truly deserve the recognition and have set high standards in the architect community.”

Architect B.V.Doshi said, “Awards in the field of architecture are a rare thing. It is important to take these awards to the masses, so that people recognize the profession of architecture as something that makes people’s lives better. The contribution of JK Cement Architect of the Year Awards to the field of architecture is unparalleled, and I hope that the legacy set forth by JK Cement gets support from other industries and disciplines as well.”

The recipients of the award are selected through careful examination and scrutiny of the projects by an esteemed jury after intense debates and deliberations. The jury for AYA is chaired by Mr. Yadupati Singhania – Chairman & Managing Director, JKCement Ltd. along with eminent architects from various regions of India.

About admin